3 Summer trends you already have in your wardrobe

Hey guys! How are we all? I’m writing this blog post from my bed on a Tuesday night while listening to Sinead Hegarty’s Instagram Live. Who else is loving her content on Instagram at the minute? If you don’t follow her already, you need to.

Tonight’s blog post is all about three top tips on how to smash some of summer’s top fashion trends without spending a penny. If you’re anything like me, you’ll stare into your wardrobe on the weekly, and say ‘I have nothing to wear’, even if you’re wardrobe is bursting at the seams.

I think it all boils down to when you look at the same clothes every day; you almost become blind to them. That’s why I’m such an advocate or clearing out and rearranging my wardrobe so often. Get in there and fall in love with your clothes again.

So, I’m talking about three trends that you’ll find in your wardrobe this summer. Let’s go…

Neutrals

If you had told me that beige was going to be a huge trend last year, I would have rolled my eyes so far into the back of my skull. Talk about being dramatic? Lol!

I used to hate neutral colours; I was ALL for the bright shades and prints. However, I have become a victim of the most beautiful, classy trend, and now I am in love with neutrals. Thanks, Kimmy K!

BUT, don’t feel like you have to go out and buy every beige and biscuit-coloured piece of clothing on the high street. (They are an excellent investment if you do though, they will always go with everything.)

I would advise you to go through your wardrobe and pull out everything that is in the neutral family and wear them ALL together for a fresh new look. Obviously, this depends on how many garments you actually have; you might get a bit hot and sweaty if you wear them all at the same time.

And, if you can’t find any in your own wardrobe, don’t be scared to look into other people’s wardrobes. Obviously, I don’t mean strangers, because that could be trespassing, and you might get arrested. Lol. What I mean is, look into your other half or your sister’s wardrobe. My fiancé was throwing out a beige blazer from Topman that was too small for him. He bought it last year, wore it twice and it’s like spit new. It went straight into my basketttt!

Bleach Denim

80’s bleach denim is making a comeback this summer, and I can guarantee you-you’ve got some kind of bleach denim garment in your wardrobe. Whether it’s a pair of skinny jeans, a denim skirt or a shirt – home it out and get it ready for summer.

info@imaxtree.com

Tie Dye

Tie Dye was predicted to be a massive trend for SS19 earlier this year; you can read more about it in my January blog post here. But as always, fashion forecasters weren’t wrong, and it’s slowly but surely creeping its way into the high street stores.

You might have an old tie-dye shirt or dress that you don’t ever throw out. I have a brightly colour beach dress that I bought in Thailand in 2015 that I’ll never throw out, just because of the fantastic memories that are attached to it. Does anyone else get so emotionally connected to a piece of clothing that they’ll never part with it? 

Anyways, the reason why I’ve included tie-dye in this blog post is that it’s SO easy to do on your own. And think how smug you’ll feel when someone says, ‘I love your new top, where’d you get it?’ Lol!

Here is a tie-dye tutorial that you can follow.

I’m definitely going to pull out some old white shirts and try this soon. Keep your eyes peeled on my Instagram to see how I get on. I’ll probably not get on great tbh. One time I tried to dye a pair of blue denim jeans black. Let’s just say the palms of my hands were jet black for days.

*Disclaimer: The Big F Word accepts no responsibility if you dye yourself, your skin or anything/anyone else while trying to tie-dye your clothes.

Did you like this blog post? Let me know in the comments below. Alternatively, you can follow me on Facebook and Instagram. I also recently started a closed Facebook Community, The Big F Word Community, which you can join here. I always love to know what you’d like to see from The  Big F Word!

Have a fabulous day, and if you’re in a bit of a slump, listen to Westlife – I Lay My Love On You, and you will INSTANTLY be in a better mood. T-minus 5 weeks until I see them in Croke Park – AGHHHHH!!

Lots and lots of love, Naomi xo

The Big F Word

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.