5 Minutes With…Lucy Lens

Hi guys, and welcome back to the latest interview in my 5 Minutes With series. I started back with the series last week after what felt like taking forever off, but I can’t wait to showcase some more talent from Northern Ireland possibly further afield.

This week I’ve been chatting to the lovely Lucy Curran; the face behind Lucy’s Lens. The Northern Ireland based photographer has been going from strength to strength over the last year or so and doesn’t seem to be slowing down any minute. She has worked with some massive brands such as BPerfect and bBold, and photographed some of NI’s beautiful bloggers and social media influencers like Oh So Femme and Rosalyn Byrne.

She is such a lovely girl and I couldn’t wait to feature her on The Big F Word. Let’s hear what she had to say from the other side of the camera…

IMG_4257

1. How did you get into photography ?

Ever since I was little I would run around with a disposable camera snapping everything and anything! When I got older my mum bought me a camera for my birthday and I would dress up anyone I could get my hands on, do their hair and makeup and take photos of them around my house lol! I think that was when I realised I loved portrait and fashion photography.

2. What do you love about being a photographer ?

Doing a job you love is the best feeling ever!  I love how creative I get to be and that any ideas in my head I can put into works. I love meeting new people, I have made so many close friends from this job, which is lovely. Lastly, seeing peoples’ reactions and messages when they receive their photos is probably the best bit; knowing you have captured memories for people to treasure forever is priceless.
IMG_4457.JPG

3. What advice would you give anyone who wants to be a photographer?

JUST DO IT ! Honestly I held back for years because I was worried about what people would think of me and followed the herd instead of branching out and doing what I actually loved. Practice loads and never stop snapping. You get better with every photo you take. Never be scared to ask for help and advice if anyone is reading this and needs any help please just message me I don’t bite, promise lol!

4. What are some of your highlights of your career so far ?

Oh gosh probably getting to photograph Triona in the Grand Opera House Belfast, working with brands such as bperfect cosmetics and bBold, snapping celebs like Sophie from Georgie shore and Danielle and Lockie from The Only Way Is Essex. Working with LMD and photographing cool fm’s Melissa Riddell.
IMG_9935.JPG

5. Whats your favourite kind of shoot to do?

Street style / fashion without a doubt. It’s the main feature on my Instagram. I love capturing different styles, the movement of clothing, different colours and personalities while using creative touches like smoke bombs, cool backdrops and locations.

6. What’s in store for Lucy’s Lens over the next few months?

Lucy’s Lens is hopefully going to get bigger! I never know whats going to pop up from week to week so it is always exciting! I have lots of creative shoots planned, shoots with well known people and a few trips and events thrown in as well so keep your eyes peeled!
IMG_1523

7. How do you feel about getting your photograph taken?

I would rather go for a ten mile run to be honest lol! I feel comfortable behind the camera, NOT in front. I become the most awkward human in the world lol! I’m trying to get better at it though, so I’m not as bad as I used to be haha.

8. Tell me about your own personal style ?

Im quite a tom boy and I will never be a total girly girl. I love band tees, colourful blazers, converse and vans. I like pieces that stand out and love the boho vibe.
IMG_2386.JPG

9. What are some of your favourite stores to shop in?

I have always been a lover of River Island, its my go-to store! I have recently been loving Alf and Roe, a vintage shop based in Donaghmore. Because I love quirky / boho pieces I’m sure to get a one-of-a-kind outfit from that shop. I got a vintage shirt and head scarf and they are never of me lol!

10. Who do you look at for style Inspo?

Rosalyn Bryne, GalsGoss ( Aisling Gallagher ) Niamh Cullen, Jamie Genevieve and Erinrose from Alf and Roe to name a few.
img_6828

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.